top of page

Apostolic Succession
Roman Catholic & Brazilian Catholic Lines


1. Scipione Rebiba,

Auxiliary Bishop of Chieti, Titular Patriarch of Constantinople, was elected Titular Bishop of Amicle and Auxiliary to Gian Pietro Cardinal Carafa, Archbishop of Chieti (who later became Pope Paul IV) on March 16, 1541. Rebiba consecrated Guilio Antonio Santoro.


2. Guilio Antonio Santoro,

Archbishop of Santa Severina, was consecrated on March 12, 1566 in the Pauline Chapel of the Vatican Apostolic Palace. His co-consecrator’s were Annibale Caracciolo, Bishop of Isola and Giacomo de`Giacomelli, Bishopemeritus of Belcastro. Santoro consecrated Girolama Bernerio.


3. Girolama Bernerio, O.P.,

Bishop of Ascoli Piceno, was consecrated on September 7, 1586 in the Basilicaof the Twelve Holy Apostles, Rome. His co-consecrator’s were Guilio Masetti, Bishop of Reggio Emilia and Ottaviano Paravicini, Bishop of Alessandria. Bernerio consecrated Galeazzo Sanvitale.


4. Galeazzo Sanvitale,

Archbishop of Bari. He was consecrated April 4, 1604 in the Chapel of the Apostolic Sacristy, Rome. His co-consecrator`s were Claudio Rangoni, Bishop of Piacenza and Giovanni Ambrogio Caccia, Bishop of Castro di Toscana. Sanvitale consecrated Lodovico Ludovisi.


5. Lodovico Ludovisi,

Cardinal Archbishop of Bologna, was consecrated on May 2, 1621 in the private chapel of Sanvitale, near St. Peter’s Basilica, Rome. Assisting Sanvitale were Cosmo de Torres, Titular Archbishop of Hadrianopolis and Ottavio Ridolfi, Bishop of Atiano. Ludovisi consecrated Luigi Caetani.

6. Luigi Caetani,

Titular Patriarch of Antioch, was consecrated on June 12, 1622 in the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, Rome. Assisting Ludovisi were: Galeazzo Sanvitale, Archbishop emeritus of Bari and Vulpiano Volpi, Archbishop emeritus of Chieti. Caetani consecrated Ulderico Carpegna.


7. Ulderico Carpegna,

Bishop of Gubbio was consecrated on October 7, 1630 in the Pauline Chapel of the Apostolic Palace of the Quirinal, Rome. His co-consecrator’s were Antonio Ricciulli, Bishop emeritus of Belcastro and Vicegerent of Rome, and Benedetto Landi, Bishop of Fossombrone. Carpegna consecrated Paluzzo Cardinal Paluzzi Altieri Degli Albertoni.


8. Paluzzo Cardinal Paluzzi Altieri Degli Albertoni,

was consecrated on May 2, 1666 Bishop of Montefiascone e Corneto, in the Church of San Silvestro in Capite, Rome. Assisting Carpegna were Stefano Ugolini, Titular Archbishop of Corinth and Giovanni Tommaso Pinelli, Bishop of Albenga. Altieri consecrated Pietro Francesco (Vincenzo Maria) Orsini de Gravina, O.P..


9. Pietro Francesco (Vincenzo Maria) Orsini de Gravina, O.P.,

Cardinal Archbishop of Manfredonia (who later became Pope Benedict XIII), was consecrated on February 3, 1675 in the Church of SS. Domenico e Sisto, Rome. His co-consecrator’s were Stefano Brancaccio, Archbishop-Bishop of Viterbo e Tuscania and Costanzo Zani, O.S.B., Bishop of Imola. Orsini consecrated Prospero Lorenzo Lambertini.


10. Prospero Lorenzo Lambertini,

Titular Archbishop of Theodosia, who became Pope Benedict XIV in 1740, was consecrated on July 16, 1724 in the Pauline Chapel of the Apostolic Palace of the Quirinal, Rome. Orsini was assisted by Giovanni Francesco Nicolai, O.F.M.Ref., Titular Archbishop of Myra and Nicola Maria Lercari, Titular Archbishop of Nazianzus. ( **Prospero Lorenzo Lambertini and those previous to him, are in the Episcopal Lineage of His Holiness, John Paul II – Karl Wojtyla**). Lambertini consecrated Carlo della Torre Rezzonico.


11. Carlo della Torre Rezzonico,

was consecrated on March 19, 1743 and became Pope Clement XIII in 1758. His co-consecrator’s were Archbishops Scopio Borghese and Ignatius Reali. Pope Clement XIII (Rezzonico) consecrated Bernadinus Giraud.


12. Bernadinus Giraud,

was consecrated on April 26, 1767 and became a Cardinal in 1771. Assisted by Archbishop Marcus Antonius Conti and Bishop Iosefus Maria Carafa, Cardinal Giraud consecrated on February 23, 1777 Alexander Matthaeus.


13. Alexander Matthaeus,

who became a Cardinal in 1779, was consecrated on February 23, 1777. Assisted by Bishops Geraldus Macioti and Franciscus Albertini, Cardinal Matthaeus consecrated Pietro Francesco Cardinal Galeffi.


14. Pietro Francesco Cardinal Galeffi,

who became a Cardinal in 1803, was consecrated on September 12, 1819. Assisted by Archbishops Ioannes Franciscus Falzacappa and Iosephus della Porta Rondiana, Cardinal Galeffi consecrated Giacomo Filippo Cardinal Fransoni.



15. Giacomo Filippo Cardinal Fransoni

was consecrated on December 8, 1822 and became a Cardinal in 1826. Assisted by Patriarch Joseph Valerga and Bishop Rudensindus Salvado, Cardinal Fransoni consecrated Carlo Cardinal Sacconi.


16. Carlo Cardinal Sacconi

was consecrated on June 8, 1851 and became a Cardinal in 1861. Assisted by Archbishops Salvator Nobili Vitelleschi and Franciscus Xaverius Fredericus de Merode, Cardinal Sacconi consecrated Edward Henry Cardinal Howard.


17. Edward Henry Cardinal Howard

was consecrated on June 30, 1872 and became a Cardinal in 1877. Assisted by Archbishops Alessandro, Sanminiatelli, Zabarella and Bishop Guilio Lenti, Cardinal Howard consecrated Mariano Cardinal Rampolla del Tindaro.


18. Mariano Cardinal Rampolla del Tindaro

 was consecrated on December 8, 1882 and became a Cardinal 1887. In Brazil, Cardinal Rampolla del Tindaro consecrated Joaquim Cardinal Arcoverde de Albuquerque Cavalcanti.


19. Joaquim Cardinal Arcoverde de Albuquerque Cavalcanti

was consecrated, for the Roman Catholic Church, on October 26, 1890 and became a Cardinal in 1905. Cardinal de Albuquerque Cavalcanti consecrated Sebastião Leme Cardinal da Silveira Cintra.


20. Sebastião Leme Cardinal da Silveira Cintra,

was consecrated on June 4, 1911 and became an Archbishop in 1921. Assisted by Dom Alberto Jose Goncalves and Dom Benedito Paulo Alves de Souza, Archbishop de Silveira Cintra consecrated Carlos Duarte Costa.






21. Carlos Duarte Costa

who had been ordained a Roman Catholic priest on April l, 1911. Costa was consecrated a Roman Catholic bishop on December 8, 1924 and remained such until he retired in 1945. Costa retired because Rome refused to take a stand against the relocation of War Criminals from the Nazi regime to his homeland of Brazil. He served as the Patriarch of the Brazilian Catholic Apostolic Church from 1945 to 1961. Bishop Carlos Duarte Costa consecrated Milton Cunha.


22. Milton Cunha

was consecrated on June 5, 1960.  Bishop Cunha consecrated Propheta and Giuseppe Santo Eusebio Pace.


23. Giuseppe Santo Eusebio Pace

was consecrated on October 3, 1968. Bishop Pace consecrated Ignazio Antonio Teodosio Pietroburgo.


24. Ignazio Antonio Teodosio Pietroburgo

was consecrated on October 15, 1978. Bishop Pietroburgo consecrated Donald Lawrence Jolly-Gabriel.

25. Donald Lawrence Jolly-Gabriel

was consecrated on June 25,1980 and he consecrated Denis Martel.


26. Denis Martel

was consecrated on July 8, 1995. Bishop Martel consecrated John Robert Reeves.

27. John Robert Reeves

on September 29, 1996. Bishop Reeves consecrated:


28. Robert M. Bowman

for the United Catholic Church in 1998.

29. Rose Tressel

for the United Catholic Church in June 20, 2006

30. Hollis Dodge

for the United Catholic Church in June 20, 2006

31. Terry M Boyer

for the United Catholic Church in February 2, 2007

32. Robert J Muller

for the United Catholic Church in May 16, 2018

bottom of page